Arizona DUI and Criminal Attorney


Being arrested for DUI in Arizona means you are no longer in control of your life

You may be ordered to:

  • Stop driving
  • Attend numerous court and counseling sessions, thus jeopardizing your job
  • Serve jail time
  • Drive only a vehicle equipped with an Ignition Interlock device for years.

Since 1979 I have helped over 5000 clients take back control of their lives

My job is to see the case through my client’s eyes

Each client’s life is unique and affected differently by an arrest.  My job as attorney is to anticipate and minimize the consequences for each client and their family.

I have designed my practice as if I were the client

If I were the client, I would expect my lawyer to keep me fully informed as the case progresses, anticipate problems I might not be aware of and help me do whatever I would be required to do.  Because that is what I expect, this is what I provide to my clients.  Personalized Service, is solely my responsibility.

E-Service

  • Encrypted email with HIPPA level security used to send all reports & information to clients
  • Text messaging for notices & reminders
  • Secure online client access to dash or body camera videos
  • One-click secure & convenient video conferencing available.

My fee agreement contains no hidden fees or costs or trial fees.  All-Inclusive Reasonable Flat Fee with affordable payment plans.

A better outcome than you think may be possible.

Call Now For Your Free Consultation

 

 

Important Questions and Answers for DUI in Arizona

How do I find the top/best/most experienced DUI Lawyer?

Ask a trusted friend or loved one for a referral, but barring that will have to choose one amongst hundreds of practicing attorneys. Your best bet is to closely review attorney websites & reviews Be sure to get the best kind of fee agreement for you.

Are there lawyers who have payment plans for Arizona DUIs?

Many attorneys do not accept payments, or require large down payments with a payment agreement, however, there are certain attorneys who will accept payments and do not require a large down payment. You should expect to find this information easily in researching a prospective attorney’s website.

What are the Maximum Penalties for Arizona Misdemeanor DUI?

What are the Minimum Penalties for Arizona Misdemeanor DUI?

  • Minimum Penalties 1st DUI, Alcohol and/or Drugs

  • Minimum Penalties for 1st Extreme DUI, Alcohol Level of .15%

    • 30 days in jail, 21 suspended if
    • Ignition Interlock maintained for 12 months
    • $250 fine plus surcharges
    • Driving Under the Influence assessment of $250
    • State Prison Construction assessment of $1,000
    • State General Fund assessment of $1,000
    • Jail costs
    • Traffic Survival School
    • 18 months  Ignition Interlock
    • 90 Day License Suspension
  • Minimum Penalties for 1st Extreme DUI, Alcohol Level of .20%

    • 45 days in jail, 31 suspended if  Ignition Interlock maintained for 12 months
    • $500 fine plus surcharges
    • Driving Under the Influence assessment of $250
    • State Prison Construction assessment of $1,000
    • State General Fund assessment of $1,000
    • Jail costs
    • Traffic Survival School
    • 18 months Ignition Interlock
    • 90 Day License Suspension
  • Minimum Penalties for 2nd DUI, Alcohol and/or Drugs

    • Substance Abuse screening session & counseling
    •  90 days in jail, 60 suspended upon completion of screening & counseling
    • $500 fine plus surcharges
    •  State Prison Construction & General Fund assessments of $1,250 each
    • Jail costs
    • 30 hours Community Restitution
    • Traffic Survival School
    • 12 months Ignition Interlock
    • 12 months License Revocation
  • Minimum Penalties for 2nd Extreme DUI, Alcohol Level of .15%

    • 120 days in jail
    • $1000 fine plus surcharges
    • Driving Under the Influence assessment of $250
    •  State Prison Construction & General Fund assessments of $1,250 each
    • Jail costs
    • 30 hours Community Restitution
    • Traffic Survival School
    • 12 months Ignition Interlock
    • 12 months License Revocation
  • Minimum Penalties for 2nd Extreme DUI, Alcohol Level of .20%

    • 180 days in jail
    • $1000 fine plus surcharges
    • Driving Under the Influence assessment of $250
    •  State Prison Construction & General Fund assessments of $1,250 each
    • Jail costs
    • 30 hours Community Restitution
    • Traffic Survival School
    • 24 months Ignition Interlock
    • 12 months License Revocation

How can my Arizona Driver’s license be affected by a DUI?

An Arizona Driver’s License or Privilege to Drive is subject to multiple suspensions, revocations and correct actions are a result of an arrest and/or conviction for DUI. Those actions are in effect for between 90 days up to years.

Below is a guide to the potential licensing consequences for a DUI in Arizona. It is organized as follows:

  1. Actions before and/or without a conviction in court
  2. Suspensions & Revocations for Misdemeanor DUI convictions
  3. Revocations for Felony DUI convictions
  4. Ignition Interlock Orders
  5. Other Corrective Actions

 

Can a Driver’s license be Suspended without a DUI conviction?

An Arizona Driver’s License or Privilege to Drive may be suspended by the Arizona MVD for DUI even though the driver is not convicted of anything in court. Those suspensions are Admin Per Se (based on chemical test results), Implied Consent (Refusals), Failure to Appear in Court and CDL Disqualifications.

 

What is an Admin Per Se (Chemical Test Results) suspension?

An Arizona Driver’s License or Privilege to Drive may be suspended for 90 days by the MVD because of the chemical test results Alcohol over a limit or Controlled Drug Without a Prescription) of a driver arrested for DUI, even without a court conviction. Restricted driving may be possible.

At the time of an arrest for DUI, a police officer may serve an Admin Per Se Order of Suspension.  The order must describe why an officer thought the driver was driving or in control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  If the officer does not serve the order at the time of the arrest then the MVD may mail the driver an Order of Admin Per Se Suspension at a later date.  if the driver then fails to request a hearing to contest the proposed suspension within 15 days of being served with it then the suspension goes into effect even though test results are not available.  If the driver timely requests a hearing then the MVD’s Executive Hearing Office will schedule a hearing.  Witnesses from the police department must appear at the hearing.  At the hearing the Hearing Officer must consider the following issues:

    • That the officer had reasonable grounds to believe the person was driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs
    • That the person was placed under arrest for an alleged violation of A.R.S. §28-1381(A)(1), Driving Under The Influence
    • That a test or tests were taken, the results of which indicated the alcohol concentration in the person’s blood or breath at the time of the test to be 0.08% or more or any alcohol if the driver is under 21 years of age or there was any drug as defined in 28 A.R.S. § 3401 or its metabolite in the person’s body without a valid prescription for the drug or metabolite;
    • That the testing method used was valid and reliable, and;
    • That the test results were accurately evaluated.

If the Hearing Officer agrees the witnesses have proven these elements by the standard of Preponderance of the Evidence ( more likely than not) then they will order a 90 days suspension of the driver’s Arizona Driver’s License or Privilege to Drive. If the driver has no DUI suspensions or convictions in the 7 years prior to the date of the arrest which resulted in a suspension and the current incident does not involve death or a serious injury, then after 30 days of no driving they are eligible for a restricted driving permit for the next 60 days.

To reinstate the license or privilege to drive after the suspension period is over the person must:

 

Can I get a Driving Permit for Admin Per Se Suspension?

Restricted Driving Permits are available during an Arizona Admin Per Suspension.  To get the permit the driver cannot have any DUI suspensions or convictions in the 7 years prior to the current DUI incident. Also, the incident cannot involve death or serious physical injury.

The Restricted Permit1 is available after the first 30 days of no driving and requires:

  1. Complete Substance Abuse Screening.

The permitted driving is:

  1. to travel between the person’s place of employment and residence and during specified periods of time while at employment,
  2. to travel between the person’s place of residence and the person’s secondary or postsecondary school, according to the person’s employment or educational schedule,
  3. to travel between the person’s place of residence and the office of the person’s probation officer for scheduled appointments
  4. to travel between the person’s place of residence and a screening, education or treatment facility for scheduled appointments.2

 

What is an Arizona Implied Consent (Refusal) Suspension?

An Arizona Driver’s License or Privilege to Drive may be suspended for up to 2 years by the MVD if a driver who was arrested for DUI refused or failed to expressly agree to submit to a chemical test as requested by an officer, even without a court conviction. Restricted driving may be possible.

All persons who operate a motor vehicle in Arizona impliedly consent to submit to chemical testing after being arrested for DUI.  If the person does not expressly consent to the testing or fails to successfully complete the testing as directed by a police officer, then their Arizona driver’s license or privilege to drive will be suspended for 12 months or 24 months if they have been found to have refused similar tests within the past 84 months.

The proceeding to initiate this suspension, known as an Implied Consent Suspension, is usually begun by the arresting officer serving the person an Implied Consent Suspension Order.  The person then has 15 days to file a request for a hearing with the MVD in which the person seeks to contest the proposed suspension.  This time limit is strictly construed and if the person does not file a request within 15 days then the suspension automatically goes into effect.

If the person timely files a request for a hearing then the MVD’s Executive Hearing Office will schedule a hearing in front of a judge.  At the hearing the issues are limited to:

  • That the officer had reasonable grounds to believe the person was driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs
  • That the person was arrested for DUI
  • That the person refused to submit to a test or tests to determine the alcohol concentration or the presence of drugs
  • That the person was informed of the consequences of refusal
  • That the person refused to submit to the test or tests as requested by the police officer(s).

If the suspension goes into effect either because the person does not request a hearing or because the judge, after listening to the evidence, orders the suspension to go into effect, the suspension will be for 12 months unless the person has had a prior refusal suspension within the past 84 months, in which case it is for 2 years.

To reinstate the license or privilege to drive after the suspension period is over the person must:

 

Can I get a Driving Permit for an Implied Consent Suspension?

A driver may be eligible for a restricted driving permit after the first 90 days of an Arizona Implied Consent Suspension.  To be eligible the driver must not have had a prior Implied Consent Suspension on their record within the past 7 years prior to the arrest for the current suspension.

The driving permit during an Implied Consent Suspension is known as a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License. It  is available after the first 90 days of the suspension 3 and requires:

  1. Complete Substance Abuse Screening
  2. The posting of an SR-22 Certificate
  3. Install a Certified ignition Interlock Device.

The permitted driving is:

  1. Between the person’s place of employment and residence during specified periods of time while at employment.
  2. Between the person’s place of residence, the person’s place of employment and the person’s secondary or postsecondary school according to the person’s employment or educational schedule.
  3. Between the person’s place of residence and a screening, education or treatment facility for scheduled appointments.
  4. Between the person’s place of residence and the office of the person’s probation officer for scheduled appointments.
  5. Between the person’s place of residence and the office of a physician or other health care professional.
  6. Between the person’s place of residence and a certified ignition interlock device service facility.4

 

Can an Arizona CDL be disqualified for a DUI Arrest only?

An Arizona CDL will be disqualified if the MVD orders an Admin Per Se or Implied Consent Order of Suspension against a CDL holder. The CDL holder need not be driving commercially when the violation occurred.  If driving commercially the prohibited Alcohol Level is .04%, not 08%.

An Admin Per Se or Implied Consent suspension or a conviction in court for a DUI or Driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle With an Alcohol Concentration of 0.04%, will result in a Commercial Driver’s license (CDL) disqualification for 1 year.

The disqualification will be for 3 years if the violation occurred while the defendant was driving commercially and transporting hazardous material.

The disqualification will be for life if the defendant also has another An Admin Per Se or Implied Consent suspension or a conviction in court for a DUI or Driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle With an Alcohol Concentration of 0.04%, on or after December 31, 1989.  A driver disqualified for life may reapply for a CDL after 10 years. 5

 

Will an Arizona license be suspended after a DUI Conviction?

An Arizona Driver’s License or Privilege to Drive is subject to mandatory suspension or revocation actions after a conviction for DUI.  The one exception is for a 1st offense DUI there will be no further DUI suspension if there an Admin Per Se or Implied Consent Suspension has already been imposed.

 

 How can an Arizona License be revoked for Misdemeanor DUI?

An Arizona Driver’s license will be revoked for at least 1 year after a DUI conviction if within 7 years of the date of the violation the driver committed at least 1 other DUI, Reckless Driving or Racing violation which resulted in a conviction.  Violations committed outside of Arizona also apply.

Arizona Misdemeanor DUI convictions can result in a revocation of the defendant’s Arizona Driver’s License or Privilege to Drive under two circumstances.

  • First, If the defendant has one or more convictions for a violation 28 A.R.S. §§ 1381, 1382 or 1383 [Felony DUI] or an act in another jurisdiction that if committed in this state would be a violation of 28 A.R.S. §§ 1381, 1382 or 1383, within 84 months prior to the commission of the current DUI violation.  The dates of the commission of the offenses and not the dates of convictions govern.  If the revocation is, for this reason, the defendant is may be entitled to a restricted driving permit during a portion of the period of the revocation.
  • Second, If the defendant has one or more convictions for a violation 28 A.R.S. § 693, Reckless Driving or 28 A.R.S. § 708, Racing on Highways, within 84 months prior to the commission of the current DUI violation.  The dates of the commission of the offenses and not the dates of convictions govern.  If the revocation is, for this reason, the defendant is not entitled to a restricted driving permit during the period of the revocation.

 

How long is a suspension for a 1st Misdemeanor DUI?

If a driver is found guilty in a court of a 1st offense DUI and they are not subject to an Admin Per Se or Implied Consent Suspension then their Arizona license or privilege to drive is suspended for 90 days with the first 30 days no driving and then the next 60 days restricted.

DUI Restricted Permit is available after the first 30 days of the suspension, assuming no serious injury6, and requires:

  1. Complete Substance Abuse Screening
  2. The posting of an SR-22 Certificate.

The permitted driving is:

  1. The person’s place of employment and residence and during specified periods of time while at employment.
  2. The person’s place of residence and the person’s secondary or postsecondary school, according to the person’s employment or educational schedule.
  3. The person’s place of residence and a screening, education or treatment facility for scheduled appointments.
  4. The person’s place of residence and the office of the person’s probation officer for scheduled appointments.7

 

What is a DUI Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License?Drivers in Arizona may drive with a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License while their license is suspended for a 12 month Implied Consent Suspension and some revocation time periods including revocations for a 2nd offense Misdemeanor DUI and a Child in Car Felony DUI.

Arizona Restricted Driver’s Permits, Licenses, and Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Licenses are available during several types of license or privilege to drive suspensions or revocations.  A driver who holds an otherwise valid license from another state who is subject to an Arizona suspension or revocation has a legal privilege to drive in Arizona with the same restrictions as apply to an Arizona licensee except that the Arizona MVD will not give the driver an actual Restricted Permit or License or Special Ignition Restricted License.  An out of state licensee must also comply with the same requirements as an Arizona licensee must do before they can drive as if they had an Arizona Restricted Permit or License or Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License.  In 2018 the Arizona legislature changed some of the terms of the Restricted Permits and Licenses and Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Licenses, effective January 1, 20198.

 

How do I get a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License?To get a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License after an initial period of 45 to 90 days no driving (depending on the type of conviction) the driver must complete Substance Abuse Screening, install an interlock and post an SR-22 Certificate of Insurance with the MVD.

For revocations after 2nd offense Misdemeanor DUI, the driver is eligible for the Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License after 45 days of no driving.  For a 1st Implied Consent and all other eligible revocations, the driver may get the Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License after 45 days of no driving.

To receive a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License the driver must:

  1. Complete Substance Abuse Screening
  2. The posting of an SR-22 Certificate
  3. Install a Certified ignition Interlock Device

The permitted driving is:

  1. Between the person’s place of employment and residence during specified periods of time while at employment.
  2. Between the person’s place of residence, the person’s place of employment and the person’s secondary or postsecondary school according to the person’s employment or educational schedule.
  3. Between the person’s place of residence and a screening, education or treatment facility for scheduled appointments.
  4. Between the person’s place of residence and the office of the person’s probation officer for scheduled appointments.
  5. Between the person’s place of residence and the office of a physician or other health care professional.
  6. Between the person’s place of residence and a certified ignition interlock device service facility.9

 

Will my license also be suspended for points after a DUI?

A DUI conviction results in the assessment of 8 points against an Arizona Driver’s License.  If a driver also has points assessed as a result of other convictions within a 12-month  or a 24-month time period after completing a Traffic Survival School then a further suspension will be imposed.

A conviction for a violation of 28 A.R.S. § 1382, Extreme Driving Under the Influence, or 28 A.R.S. § 1381.A, Driving Under the Influence, results in 8 points being assessed against a person’s Arizona driver’s license or privilege to drive.  A finding of “Responsible” for a violation of 28 A.R.S. § 701, Speeding, results in the assessment of 3 points.  Most other moving violations result in the assessment of 2 points per violation.  Charges such as 28 A.R.S. § 2532, No Current Registration and 28 A.R.S. § 4135(C), No Proof of Insurance, are not moving violations, therefore, no points are assessed.  The assessment of 13 to 17 points within a 12-month time period will result in the Arizona Department of Transportation suspending the person’s Arizona driver’s license or privilege to drive in Arizona for a period of 3 months, 18-23 points, 6 months and 24 or more points within 36 months, 12 months.10  Restricted driver’s licenses are not available for points suspensions.

 

What is the suspension for Underage Drinking and Driving?

A conviction for Underage Drinking and Driving results in a 2-year suspension of an Arizona Driver’s License or Privilege to Drive.  The court may order the MVD to issue a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted License to allow driving to and from work and school.

A separate offense is Underage Drinking and Driving11.  This offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor.  Unlike DUI there is no mandatory minimum sentence however if the defendant is convicted of the offense their Arizona driver’s license or privilege to drive is suspended 2 years.  If the court orders it, the defendant may drive with a restricted license, to and from work and school during specified hours however they must equip and drive only a vehicle with an ignition interlock device12.  The charge is decided by a judge and not a jury.  Evidence that there is any alcohol in the defendant’s body is sufficient for a conviction.

 

Do I have to post an SR-22 for an Arizona DUI?An SR-22 Certificate of Insurance is proof of financial responsibility.  It must be obtained from an insurance company and posted for all DUI and Alcohol-related suspensions and revocations (including for Underage Drinking and Driving) except for a 1st offense Admin Per Se suspension.

An SR-22 Certificate of Insurance is proof of financial responsibility.  An SR-22 is an agreement by an insurance company that the company will issue liability coverage to a driver for a period of 3 years and to notify the MVD if there is a lapse in the liability coverage (most common cause is a failure to pay the premiums).

An SR-22 is required for all license or privilege to drive reinstatements, after all, DUI related suspensions except Admin Per Se Suspensions.

 

How Will A DUI Affect A Commercial Driver’s Licenses (CDL)?An Arizona MVD Admin Per Se or Implied Consent Suspension or a court conviction for DUI will result in a 1-year disqualification of a CDL.  If there has been a prior suspension or conviction for DUI for a violation on or after December 31, 1989, there will be a lifetime disqualification.

An Admin Per Se or Implied Consent suspension or a conviction in court for a DUI or Driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle With an Alcohol Concentration of 0.04%, will result in a Commercial Driver’s license (CDL) disqualification for 1 year.

The disqualification will be for 3 years if the violation occurred while the defendant was driving commercially and transporting hazardous material.

The disqualification will be for life if the defendant also has another An Admin Per Se or Implied Consent suspension or a conviction in court for a DUI or Driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle With an Alcohol Concentration of 0.04%, on or after December 31, 1989.  A driver disqualified for life may reapply for a CDL after 10 years. 13

 

Will my Arizona License be suspended for an Out of State DUI?

The Arizona MVD will take 2 actions against an Arizona driver’s license after an out of state DUI conviction. First, the Arizona licensee must comply with the license action imposed by the convicting state and second, Arizona will impose at least a 90-day no driving suspension.

The Arizona MVD may take corrective action against an Arizona Driver’s License as a result of a DUI incident in another state or even another Country.  28 A.R.S. § 3306.A.7 14, authorizes the MVD to suspension or revoke an Arizona Driver’s License if the driver has committed an act in another state which would be the basis for a suspension or revocation if committed in Arizona.  The statute does not require a conviction to trigger the corrective action.  As of January 5, 2018, I learned of a corrective action being taken against an Arizona License for a DUI arrest in Germany, which was prosecuted civilly in German courts which in turn lead to a suspension of the driver’s United States Military driving privileges. That Arizona MVD corrective action was based solely on civil administrative proceedings (either German or U.S. Military) conducted outside the United States and with no criminal conviction.

The corrective action taken by the MVD pursuant to 28 A.R.S. § 3306.A.7, maybe a suspension or revocation.  In contrast to corrective actions for DUIs committed in Arizona, there is no provision for restricted licenses during this suspension or revocation.  There is also no interlock requirement nor substance abuse screening requirement for license reinstatement

A driver may request an administrative hearing to contest the proposed corrective action issued pursuant to 28 A.R.S. § 3306. A.7.  Upon timely receipt from the driver for a hearing to contest the corrective action, the MVD Executive Hearing Office issues a Stay of the corrective action (which prevents the corrective action from going into effect) until the hearing is held although the legal authority for the Stay is questionable.  A corrective action pursuant to 28 A.R.S. § 3306.A.7, is discretionary and not mandatory and the MVD Judge is has the authority to void the suspension or revocation or order Traffic Survival School instead of a suspension or revocation.

Where will I serve a jail sentence for an Arizona DUI case?

Sentences for Arizona misdemeanor DUIs are normally served in the county jails.  Work release is usually permitted but multiple weekend sentences are not.  Some cities such as Mesa allow sentences to be served in a City Jail.  Many courts allow defendants to serve sentences in other states.

Sentences without work release for DUI cases arising in the Mesa Municipal Court will serve their jail sentences in a private facility in Florence, Arizona (CoreCivic’s Central Arizona Florence Correctional Complex).  Sentences for DUI cases arising in the Chandler or Gilbert Municipal Court or one of the several Maricopa County Justice Courts or the Mesa Municipal Court with work release will serve their sentence in the Maricopa County Jail.

How to I find an Arizona MVD near me?

The Arizona MVD has locations throughout the state.  Some of the locations have limited service.  You can also go online for many MVD services.

The Mesa branch of the Arizona MVD is located at 4126 East Valley Auto Drive in Mesa, Arizona 85206, and the Chandler branch is located at 6895 West Chandler Boulevard in Chandler, Arizona 85226.  Gilbert residents must choose the closest of Mesa or Chandler, or check the MVD website for a branch convenient to you.

Can I go to Authorized Third Party (ATP) instead of the MVD?

There are now many Authorized Arizona Third Party (ATP) locations that you can use instead of an MVD station.  ATPs will charge additional convenience fees however they are open more hours. You can check ATP and see which locations are near to you and what services are offered at that location.

What court is my Arizona DUI or Criminal case in?

When a person is given a citation or receives a summons in the mail for DUI they will be told which court to go to.  Which court actually has correct legal jurisdiction can be confusing and occasionally charges are filed in the wrong court; if so the case may be dismissed.

In general, if you were arrested for misdemeanor DUI by city police but not on a highway, your case will be filed in a Municipal Court.  If you were arrested by Arizona DPS or a County police officer, your case will be filed in a Justice Court. 

How long can the State wait to file DUI charges against me?

Many times in Arizona a person is stopped and investigated for DUI but not charged in a court. The State then has 1 year from the date of the stop to file misdemeanor DUI charges and 7 years to file Aggravated DUI charges.

I was arrested for DUI and blood was taken. Will I be charged?

Many times these days the police only take blood samples and then wait until they get positive test results before asking the prosecutor to file charges (however, this does not prevent the State from attempting to suspend your license for DUI at any point during this time period).  This is particularly true when the police only suspect drugs are involved or the charges are possible felonies.  The blood testing procedure can take several months.

How do I get my vehicle out of Impound for an Arizona DUI?

Arizona law requires police officers to impound for 30 days vehicles driven or controlled by persons whom an officer believes is committing an Extreme DUI.  Spouses and co-owners of the vehicle may be eligible to receive an order from the Police Department authorizing an early release.

Not all vehicles towed are held for 30 days; first, check the impound form to see if your vehicle is listed as a 30-day hold. If so, and the vehicle is registered in someone else’s name (such as a spouse, or a parent), the other registered party may be able to get the vehicle released early. Otherwise, the hold is for 30 days; you should retrieve your vehicle as soon as it is possible to be released. Not only are you charged for each day of impound, but within a very short timeframe the tow company can and will take immediate steps to take possession of the vehicle and you will have to pay a $500 vehicle abandonment fee and receive a suspension of your driver’s license. Check with the police department which impounded your vehicle for detailed information on retrieving your vehicle as many agencies have very specific rules and requirements for release.

The Best Possible Result for Arizona DUI and Criminal Cases Comes From Knowledge Obtained Through Experience

In DUI and criminal law the necessary basis for success is knowledge gained from experience.  There are no short cuts or substitutes to gain meaningful knowledge other than through experience. My background includes 41 years of day in, day out courtroom experience and having represented more than 5,000 clients.  In DUI and criminal law, I know the options available to my clients for each charge they may be facing.  I take great care to see each client and their families as individuals with particular problems and concerns which must be dealt with individually.  Helping my clients and their families get their lives back to normal as soon as possible is always my main objective.  My first goal is to find a way to get the case dismissed, however, if that is not possible I work to get the charges or sentence reduced.  For any case that continues into the trial phase, I provide knowledgeable, professional, and compassionate defense, ensuring the least possible consequences should a guilty verdict be reached.

As a sole practitioner, your case will never be shifted off to an associate attorney, rather I will personally be responsible for your case from the first phone call all the way to dismissal or, if guilty, the completion of all legal obligations.  As part of my service of total representation, I continue to represent my clients even years after sentencing when unanticipated problems arise.  I work hard to make the process as smooth for you as possible. I am available around the clock for all of my clients and keep my prices simple with no hidden costs or trial fees, flat fees for my services, and free consultations.

What is a Misdemeanor DUI in Arizona; An informational guide through an Arizona DUI case, step by step with Phoenix, Arizona DUI & Criminal Attorney Gordon Thompson. 1. Why Stopped: Accident, Erratic Driving, Sitting in Vehicle. 2. Field Sobriety Tests: Eye Test, Walk & Turn, 1 Leg Stand, Portable Breath Test. 3. <a href=

Photo of Gordon Thompson Chander, Gilbert, Mesa AzCriminal & DUI Attorney/ Lawyer

 

Footnotes

  1. 28 A.R.S. § 1385.G
  2. 28 A.R.S. § 1385.G
  3. 28 A.R.S. § 1321.P
  4. 28 A.R.S. § 1402.A
  5. 28 A.R.S. § 3312
  6. 28 A.R.S. § 1387.E
  7. 28 A.R.S. § 1387.E
  8. 2018 Arizona Session Laws, Chap. 113
  9. 28 A.R.S. § 1402.A
  10. 17 A.A.C. § 4-404, See pages 17-18
  11. 4 A.R.S. § 244.34
  12. 28 A.R.S. § 3322
  13. 28 A.R.S. § 3312
  14. 28 A.R.S. § 3306.A.7

Get your questions answered - call me now for a free phone consultation (602) 467-3680